Owning the Sidewalk

We were hanging up the clothes. It was after Maghrib, and the three kittens crowded around my younger brother’s feet and mine as we pinned and spread the clothes. We were talking about going out when he suddenly said-

“When I walk on the sidewalk or whatever, and there are people walking too, I go to the side and get out of their way. But I always see you just walking right past.”

“What do you mean?” (I have to admit I laughed a little.)

“Like this.”

He turned around and walked confidently away from the clothes lines. I laughed again- he was obviously exaggerating my movements just for fun, because he’s like that, but I could see what he meant. I gave them the room they needed and no more.

“Well, I mean, as long as both of us get past fine. The sidewalk’s everybody’s.”

“Yeah, I know……”

“As long as you give them enough room to be polite and all that,” I went on, shrugging.

“I know,” he agreed.

“Why would you get out of the way like that then?” I asked curiously.

“I don’t know,” he answered, grinning.”I just do it.”

I have to admit I never noticed myself blazing by, nor him getting out of the way. I guess you learn something new every day, and this time it was pretty basic.

I own the sidewalk.

 

Leave a Reply

